Things to do in Dublin — 3

Charlotte Red
2 min readOct 2, 2020

--

While I had a brief stint of a job in Dublin city, we decided to try and do as many “touristy” things as we could every week after I finished work. This is mainly because I avoid the city like the plague; I hate large crowds, people walking slowly, and just general loud noise, so I avoid it as much as I can. But while I was there, and especially at night time, it seemed like an ideal time to try all the things the city had to offer.

The Leprechaun Museum sounds like it would only appeal to children, and part of the reason I chose it is because I had actually gone to a good few years back when it had originally opened. And I remembered not being too impressed, but I did remember a giant chair that you got to sit in, and I decided if nothing else, that would be a good laugh for me and the guys.

I was pleasantly surprised when I visited their website, (it’s really nicely put together!) and found that not only did they do night time tours, but there was one specifically for adults too, so we booked four tickets and went for it. I can’t remember exactly, but I think it was some kind of spooky special, only on for a limited time. But we all loved it, really good story telling, cheesey jokes, and of course plenty of Irish Folklore without it being shoved down your throat “WE ARE IRISH”.

And of course, I had remembered correctly about the giant chair. If you’re not into the old Irish folklore, or even immersing yourself in the silly sort of humor, I don’t think this is for you. But it is a good laugh over all if you can get into a pantomime mind set of “he’s behind you” esque humor.

The Leprechaunn Museum is located on Jervis Street, and is surrounded by public transport, namely the Luas. Or you could walk back to the Spire like me and Ronan did. It can be quicker than the Luas. We raced the other two and we won. No matter what they say.

--

--

Charlotte Red

Doing my best to function as an adult, without anyone noticing I have no idea what I’m doing.